Newlyweds, new year, new adventures

And here we are in 2016. A bright, clear new year ahead, looking now like a smooth and gentle downhill. I feel very optimistic.

2015 was work, with bursts of total joy and love. Pat asked me to marry him and I said yes and in December we were wed. There is no feeling like it, the exhilaration of our love, our great faith in and commitment to each other, our shared vision of our future that we are crafting together. We are so lucky to have found each other! Every day is more and more beautiful.

But will we settle down? Will we stay on this farm in the suburbs and let our roots grow deep? Not yet! Not now! Over the past year in western Mass, Pat worked as a timber framer and I farmed for another full season. And this may be our future, farming and building… eventually. After some more hiking. I’ve got too much dirt bag in me still. I am restless, even as I dream of our own land, a farm and a wood lot, summers sweating outside and dirty, yes, but not going anywhere. These dreams are for later. For now, the PCT.

My days are full of preparations. There is food prep, dehydrating and packing dinners, planning resupplies, bulk orders at the co-op. There is research, reading about trail towns and weather systems. There is gear to be updated or refigured. There is budgeting.

It may seem counterintuitive for newlyweds to be packing up their home, their careers, their future dreams, and storing them elsewhere for half a year. But it doesn’t feel that way. It feels normal, and right, and good. It feels necessary.

4 thoughts on “Newlyweds, new year, new adventures

  1. Congrats on the marriage. Glad to hear you are not settling down yet. I missed reading your mail. Looking forward to reading about the PCT adventure.

  2. Congrats you wonderful folks. I live right by the PCT, so let me know if you need any staging or rides – the subaru is out here and so are massage tables… big love!

Leave a Reply

