PCT Day 86: Nero with Pat

July 16

Mile 1804.0-1818.4 (14.4)

I woke up before dawn at the sound of deer moving through camp. I tried to pack up quickly but felt so tired. I shoved a bar in my mouth and finally rolled out at 6am.

It had been a really cold night so the mosquitos were absent. That was good, since I was navigating blowdowns all morning. I wanted to go fast since I knew Pat would be early to the trailhead, but it was slow going. 

I hiked with King Street for an hour then picked up speed on my own once the trail cleared and the mosquitos came out. Pat and I were both running when we saw each other. The mosquitos drove us right back to the car.

Time for fun! Pat brought me lots of good food so we had a picnic at Crater Lake. Then we drove up to some hot springs and soaked all afternoon. It was the best.

2 thoughts on “PCT Day 86: Nero with Pat

Leave a Reply

